Home » Uncategorized » It’s not my story to tell

It’s not my story to tell

 

storybook

I was involved in something kinda big today. Everyone’s fine, everything’s okay. But it was a moment.

The thing is, it didn’t just happen to me. Other people I care about were involved. Their lives will be more affected by this than mine. And so, I just don’t think it’s my story to tell.

How often do we think about that when we start talking about other people and their lives, even if we are a part of it? Have you ever had a part of your story told that you would prefer hadn’t been? How many times have you told a story that wasn’t yours to tell?

I’ve had people tell my story when I’d rather they didn’t. And I know I’m guilty of being the storyteller of a moment that truly wasn’t mine to tell. It’s something I’ve been thinking about a lot lately, as I tell more stories. Being mindful of exactly whose story I’m telling.

If I were going to tell you my story about what happened today, it would be that I had 10 seconds were I was a little scared about what was going to happen next, and then I had the privilege of supporting my friends for the next two hours as did what they needed to do. And that’s pretty much it. That’s my story.

If I started to tell you the details about what happened, who caused what, and who had to deal with what — that wouldn’t be my story. That stuff didn’t really have to do with me.

Think about it the next time you want to tell a story. Make sure it’s your story to tell.

 

Leave a Reply

