Home » Life » 100 Days, Part II

100 Days, Part II

100-days

As of today, there are 100 days left in the year. Two years ago on this day, I began a 100 day challenge to play guitar every day. And in the following hundred days, I hosted two sets of visitors, I had laser eye surgery in San Jose, I got Hepatitis A and I travelled back home to Toronto. And I didn’t miss a damn day. I played that guitar every day for 100 days, and by the end of it…well, I wasn’t good at playing the guitar, but I was a whole lot better than I was when I started. I learned how to play the guitar.

This year, I’ve decided to take on two challenges for the last 100 days of the year. The first is to blog every day. It doesn’t have to be anything major, or deep, or even my own writing. Some days it may be a poem, a song or a video. But more often than not, I’ll write something. It won’t always be great, but it will get done. And for now, that’s a good start for me.

The second challenge is to hoop every day. I got into hooping (yes, hula hooping. Though this is more than just hula hooping – it’s hoop dancing.) about 7 years ago. But much like with the guitar, I picked it up and put it down and started and stopped a hundred times, but never really gave myself a fair shot to practice consistently and get good at it. So every day for the next 100 days, I’m going to hoop. There is only one rule: At least 10 minutes a day. I can do whatever I want with the hoop, but it has to be for at least 10 minutes every day.

So this is day 1. And it begins.

6 thoughts on “100 Days, Part II

  1. There are many things in life I have been meaning to do, and some of which are to sort and catalogue old photographs. After reading your 100 day challenge, I am motivated to do something useful over the next 100 days. Asante Saana.

    • I’ll be back in Toronto before these 100 days are up – you know I’ll be checking in with you! I’m happy to hear you are motivated – you know what will keep you motivated?? Action! 🙂

Leave a Reply

