Home » Baby » She Brings Me Wildflowers

She Brings Me Wildflowers

http://www.dennisflood.com/photos/get/2777/irish_wildflowers

About a month ago, Amira started doing the most curious – and beautiful – thing.  She started bringing me flowers.

Often, she and Stu will go out for a quick jaunt around the neighbourhood in the morning.  One morning, I took a call while they were gone.  I was up in the office with the door closed, and I heard them come in, and Amira saying over and over again, “Mummy!  Mummy!”

Stu told me later that this is what happened:

Amira and Stu were out on the front lawn when she spotted a dandelion and started saying, “Flower! Flower!”  That wasn’t unusual.  What was different was that when she picked it, she started saying, “Mummy!  Mummy!”  Stu said she picked up that flower and started crawling with it.  She crawled up the steps of the house, pushed open the front door, crawled down the hall, turned left, crawled down the next hall, climbed the stairs, and stopped in front of the room I was in.

I heard her on the other side of the door, banging and calling me, but I didn’t know why.  I heard Stu right behind Amira, gently taking her back downstairs and telling her that she would see me soon.

When I was done on the phone, I went downstairs and Stu told me the story.  Amira was still holding that flower, and offered it to me in the sweetest, gentlest way you could imagine.  Almost shyly, which is so not the kind of kid she is.  It made me cry.

And almost every day since then, whenever she is outside with someone, she will insist on picking a flower and bringing it to me.  I don’t know how this started, or why.  But it fills my heart with love, and my eyes with tears, every time.

3 thoughts on “She Brings Me Wildflowers

  1. Because the most wonderful gifts really are the little ones. In her own little way she’s showing you how much you mean to her. There’s nothing more precious than that. I hope every time you see a flower, from now until forever, you remember this gift.

Leave a Reply

