Home » Uncategorized » You should write about that

You should write about that

Oh, that damn writer’s block.

Sitting here, wondering what to say, trying to figure out what people will want to hear, trying to quiet the voices in my head to just one so I can focus and just get something – anything – down on paper.

They shouldn’t call it writer’s block.  They should call it writer’s-brick-wall-all-up-in-your-face, because that’s what it feels like.  Not like a block that can be easily moved, but like a brick wall that you can’t climb or can’t walk around or can’t bust through.  At least, that’s what it feels like for me.

And of course, looking for a way to bust through it would be the wise thing to do, especially for someone who wants to be a writer.  But when you’re faced with a blank page and an inky pen, or a blank screen with that damn tab flashing and flashing at you but not moving, it’s so much easier to retreat.  Few things are as intimidating as all that bright white with nothing on it.  I’ll think of something to write about later is always one of my favourite escape hatches. It’s all the permission I need to veg out in front of the tv, lose myself in a book, organize my desk for the seven thousandth time, or do myriad other things besides write.

And really – what to write?  I ask myself that same damn question every single day.  But the truth is, I know the answer.

Anything.

Everything.

Several months ago, I was at a party and got to chatting with the very cool Andy Walker, who is himself a speaker, author and prolific blogger.  Mostly about technology and web-related stuff (basically about stuff I don’t understand one bit) but a writer he is, and a good one at that.  I shared with him my struggles with writer’s brick wall, and his response: “You should write about that.”

He said that to me all night long.

Me: I hate yoga.

Andy: You should write about that.

Me: These cookies are delicious.

Andy: You should write about that.

Me: I don’t know what to write about.

Andy: You should write about that.

And finally, I got it.

Just write.

Write about anything.  Write about everything.  It doesn’t have to be Pulitzer Prize winning.  Hell, it doesn’t even have to be all that good.  The only way to bust through writer’s brick wall is to write.

And so it goes with everything in life.

Want to dance but just can’t muster it up?  Dance.

Want to cook but just can’t get your mojo going?  Start chopping.

Want to work out but can’t find the energy?  Go for a run.

To break through the barrier that is stopping you from doing what you want to do, just do what you want to do.  It’s so simple, it’s stupid.  But that really is the key.

Mr. Nike said it best:  Just Do It.

And so I do.  One day at a time.  One brick at a time.  There’s sunshine on the other side of that wall.  I know there is.

Just do it.

6 thoughts on “You should write about that

Leave a Reply

