Home » Writing » My practice to develop my practice.

My practice to develop my practice.


So it’s Day 5 of November, and that means Day 5 of NaBloPoMo – National Blog Posting Month.

I’ve tried this before, and have been unsuccessful.  But this is a new year, a new November, and I’m at it again.

I know several people who are attempting NaNoWriMo – National Novel Writing Month, and I admire their insanity.  50,000 words in a month?  That’s almost 1700 words a day.  (Thank you Dashboard calculator.)  I’m lucky if I can get 500, so I really admire those who are going full-on.  But if I can do 30 posts in 30 days, it will be more writing in one month than I’ve ever done in any month before, and I will consider it a great accomplishment.

Writing is something I have always struggled with.  I haven’t struggled with actually writing – there are always words, and sometimes, they’re even strung together well.  But I’ve struggled with the practice of writing.

And a practice it is.  Or should be.  As with anything else one wants to do well in life, consistency is the key.  And that’s what I’ve been missing.  I’ve not had that in my writing, or in too many other areas of my life.

But 30 days would be consistent.  If it takes 21 days to form a habit, what can I form in 30?  I’m aiming for a practice.

So this is my practice to develop my practice.

There are several things I have implemented to do this, but the most important one is to turn the tv off.

These days, after Amira goes to bed, it is so easy to zone out in front of the tv for a couple of hours before going to bed.  The days are long, and I’m always so tired.  But the simple act of turning the tv off is such a freedom – all of a sudden, there is time to do other things!  The energy to do them is another story, but that’s where having a practice comes in.  And I’m not doing an Ironman Triathalon here, I’m writing a blog post.  I can summon the energy to do this.

And I want to.  I truly want to.  I know what comes with a diligent, consistent practice.  Improvement.  And I’m looking for that more than anything.

And so it’s Day 5.  And I write.

4 thoughts on “My practice to develop my practice.

  1. I regularly write between 15K – 30K/month. I write all year like I write for NaNo (last NaNo I wrote 100,418 but that will NEVER happen again) – just writing, very little editing, very little worrying about anything other than getting the words out. With all that writing, I still feel like my style has improved very little. Certainly not enough to make me willing to ever show anyone anything I’ve written. I have mixed feelings as to whether working under pressure to meet a word count goal produces better writing than just writing when inspired, but I guess you have a point that making it a regular practice does put writing at the top of mind, and perhaps makes you more willing to prioritize it. I hope you see positive results from this exercise, but no matter what, keep going! You like to write, so at the very least, it probably helps keep you sane – I know it does just that for me!

    • (Sorry, I hope that post didn’t sound braggy about word counts… it’s all a lot of crap that no one sees… I think it takes way more guts and effort to post something publicly every single day than it does to spend most nights writing stuff for only yourself!)

  2. I didn’t know you write so much — I didn’t know you write at all! It’s great that you are so consistent with it. I wish you would share it – I’d love to read it. I’m sure lots of people would. I don’t think you’re the best judge of whether or not your stuff is good, or whether you’ve improved. Let me be the judge of that!! 😉

Leave a Reply

