Home » Uncategorized » A little morning magic

A little morning magic

I love magic tricks.

I love love love magic tricks.  Especially card tricks.  I can be entertained for hours by the simplest card tricks.  Intellectually, I know it’s all slight of hand and illusion this and behind your back that and blah blah.  But I don’t care about all that.  To me, it’s just magic.  One can find the solution to almost any card trick on YouTube, but I don’t even want to hear about it.  It’s all magic.

One early  morning last week, I got on the subway with a coworker.  A gentleman sat in front of us, and to be quite honest, he looked a little sketch.  But when he asked if he could show us a card trick, I was down.  I mean, this guy could have simply pulled a quarter out from behind my ear and I would have been sold.

Magic Card Trick Man proceeded to dazzle us with trick after trick, for our entire ride.  At one point I asked him if he’d seen David Blaine’s Street Magic, and MCTM told me that it was that very tv special that had inspired him, and then proceeded to do on me my  most favourite trick ever.  I highly recommend you click  this link and see David Blaine do it in Street Magic.  MCTM totally blew my mind.

I have no problem tossing someone a couple of bucks who will entertain me on the subway.  Or the bus.  Or on the street.  These people are providing a service.  In fact, everyone who was in our vicinity on that ride should have given this guy something, because all of them oh-ed and ah-ed and laughed along during the ride.  He provided a very valuable service (fun and laughter on a Friday morning).  The TTC should consider paying this guy.  It was a subway ride I’ll never forget.

Leave a Reply

